In 1786, Robert Hamilton acquired a mill site on the waters of Twelve Mile Creek from Duncan Murray, the mill operated as a saw mill until 1800. In 1811, a grist mill was added by Peter Thomas and the community then became known as Crown Mills.
In 1954, Benjamin Reynolds bought the site and constructed a wagon and buggy factory, a boarding house, and twelve homes for workers. Fossing and Second operated a wood and pulp mill and Thomas Moffat and William Reynolds manufactured wagons. It was at this time that the village name changed to Reynoldsville.
Soon after electricity was introduced, the Cataract Power Company of Hamilton constructed a hydroelectric generating station a short distance downstream from the mills. The water powered mills could not compete with the efficiency of electricity and its operation stopped shortly thereafter. The workers’ houses remain standing today in the small community still known as Power Glen.
All that remain of this ghost town are remnants of a dam, manmade water tunnels, and a single brick wall from the 1811 grist mill where the original water wheel was located.
In the prestigious Power Glen area, the community boasts convenience and beautiful vistas. Single and double car garage units available. Above and beyond our luxury standard features, each unit includes special features of their own – some highlights include oversized walk-in closets, granite countertops, ceramic tile shower units, custom melamine closet shelving, finished basements, and interlock driveways. For a more detailed list of the special features of each unit, please contact Victor at .